All The Posts I Did Not Write

18 Aug

This post is mainly about not wanting to post and in some way an explanation into the diminishing number of posts I have written over the last couple of months. I got married in July and in going through all the things that I did not get done in the run up to the joyous occasion I discovered a trove of photos all taken with blogging in mind.

It would be a lie to say that the build up to my nuptials meant that I did not have the time to blog, in fact a lot of the non blogging was due to a paralysis of thoughts. Every time I sat down to write something I came to question its worth: why would any one want to read it? I would go as far as to say I have become reluctant to blog. I have always been doubtful as to the value of one persons thoughts over another, especially when one is not even a professional (in the sense of not getting paid for it), yet here I am back again.

I am determined now at the very least to make it 12 months as a blogger, so here is a selection of posts that never quite got written up.

This slushed ice drink immediately took me back to those heady school days where you could pop into the newsagent and buy a neon Slush Puppy and get the best sugar rush going. The Kelvin Natural Slush Co has taken the concept and upgraded it. All natural flavours, no additives just good old fruit puree. You start off with a base, such as the lemon one I chose and add secondary seasonal flavours, such as strawberry, for full menu and truck location see there website. It really is a delicious treat on a sweltering day.

The best tuna sandwich in the world, well in my opinion. I have been trying to perfect this for years and I still struggle to get it spot on every time. These are my choice ingredients and top tips; spend money on good tuna (in fact only buy good tuna), make it a day in advance the flavours come together much better, and use slightly more of everything than you think you should. There really are very few things finer than a great tuna sandwich!

Homemade lemonade cannot be beat. Recipe, 1 litre boiling water, handful of mint leaves, 250 ml  sugar, mix together and allow to cool. Add 500ml freshly squeezed lemons and mix well, again this actually tastes better the next day. Feel free to add a little more or less sugar and lemon to taste.

I Have no green fingers, the best I could do was to try to keep my brothers herbs alive as he willfully ignored them. But as the heat cranked up here salads became the only home eating option the expense of having to buy fresh herbs began to grate. So I began my own little garden. The basil was a random experiment that happily worked. By snipping a healthy stem and giving it water and a little sun it sustained itself until it went into a rooting cycle. At this point I simply planted it and gave it some organic fertilizer and watched it shoot up. I now have basil, coriander, thyme, parsley, mint and rosemary all growing on the roof.

I have decided that my corner of Brooklyn is in the midst of a burger war. In the last 3 months four fast food style burger joints have opened within a mile radius, with two more due to open. The real lines will be drawn (quite literally) when Shake Shack opens in autumn. In the meantime Smashburger came out on top against Five Guys (they opened 2 different locations) and 282 burger.

Last but by no means least is Blue Marble Ice Cream, which definitely deserves its own post.

Thier strawberry ice cream is so good that come July, when they still had no stock of it (all flavours are made seasonally), I was forced into emailing them to find out when it would be returning. Fortunately the answer came back as the following day, I was ecstatic and first in line. It is a 3 time a week habit right now, so hard to ignore when it is literally feet from my doorstep. I feel like I am ruined for all other ice cream, certainly strawberry wise, this simply is the best I have ever had!

3 Responses to “All The Posts I Did Not Write”

  1. Frank August 18, 2011 at 2:33 pm #

    Good to see you back online. Keep writing and please do try and fit in something from Manhattan. Obviously you are forgiven for not including Upper West Side…

  2. foodieinberlin August 18, 2011 at 2:58 pm #

    I really enjoy your blog. Keep it going!
    And read Bird by Bird, it’s a fantastic book about writing. It will inspire you and it’s funny.

  3. leighgoodstuff October 9, 2011 at 11:37 am #

    hey man, great blog. That lemonade looks awesome, and as for the burger war – there can only be one winner – you, the burger junkie!

Leave a Reply

