Risotto Balls with Ricotta, Honey and Black Pepper

9 Apr

My free days are becoming somewhat rarer, thus finding myself at home with a spare morning and some left over risotto I decided to experiment. I lucked upon a pretty good ratio of ingredients; 100g ricotta. 20g honey, 1 tblsp chopped thyme, salt and lots of pepper (For the crust 25g sourdough crumbs, 25g panko). I pulled the pea risotto out of the fridge and made a production line of rice , ricotta mix, well seasoned flour, beaten egg and breadcrumbs.

By taking a small amount of risotto in the palm of my hand and pressing a divot with my thumb I made space for a blob of the ricotta, honey and pepper mix and then placed a ‘lid’ of rice over the top and gently formed into a ball. Having made all the balls I then floured, egged and crumbed them.

refrigerate for at least 30 minutes and then fry in batches, in oil at 190 C until golden brown, dry on some paper towel.

The result is 10 balls of fried goodness that will be eaten faster than they should.

One Response to “Risotto Balls with Ricotta, Honey and Black Pepper”

  1. Miranda Richardson April 11, 2011 at 1:02 pm #

    “lucked upon”????

Leave a Reply

