Saturday

6 Mar

Saturday is good day for me to be in the kitchen. My girlfriend is out working for a good stretch of the day and I have no commitments other than the odd spurs game which is shown at Floyd’s round the corner (home to the official NY Spurs supporters club)

Today there was no game so it was me and the kitchen. I had no real agenda, but had seen some things I wanted to try. First up was a Blood Orange Panna Cotta I saw on the blog Dinner for n(one). I have never made panna cotta before but as the bloods were on their way out of season I felt this was reason enough to try. They turned out pretty well for a first effort. I would have prefered them to be a little less sweet, perhaps the orange topping would have been better without being cooked down with sugar. They set perfectly, having tried four stores I could only find gelatine powder so after some searching on the internet I worked out 1 tsp would be the correct equivalent to two leaves and it was spot on, just set enough without being in any way rubbery.

No suspects were found

Blood Orange Panna Cotta with Caramelised Oranges

Serves 2-3

1 cup / 250 ml cream
½ cup / 125 ml freshly pressed blood orange juice
½ vanilla bean
2 gelatine leaves/1 tsp powdered gelatine
20 g sugar
2 blood oranges, filleted
2 – 3 tbsp brown sugar

Leave gelatine leaves to soak in cold water.  Heat the cream.  Scrape vanilla seeds from bean and add both to the cream.  Once the cream starts boiling, slowly add the blood orange juice.  Stir in sugar, if using.  Simmer for 12 minutes.

Take pot off the heat, remove and discard vanilla bean.  Squeeze out the gelatine leaves, and stir in with a whisk.   Keep stirring for a minute or so to make sure there aren’t any lumps.

Fill mixture into jars or receptacles of your choice, and refrigerate for about 4 hours.

To make the caramelised oranges, fillet the blood oranges.  Slowly heat 2 – 3 tbsp sugar in a heavy based pan until it melts.  Once it starts to bubble slightly, add the oranges and stir well. (Next time I would not bother with caramelising the orange, just put it on fresh)

 

5 Responses to “Saturday”

  1. Natasha March 6, 2011 at 6:09 pm #

    Yummy!

  2. foodieinberlin March 7, 2011 at 8:16 am #

    Always have a stash of gelatine leaves in the cupboarand 6 dariole molds. I thin panna cotta is so easy to make and so fast but it’s one of those things that really impresses people when they see it!

    • LDN Eats NYC March 7, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

      your right, it was so easy to make and I impressed myself…..whats the difference between gelatine leaves and powder?

  3. Kiki June 27, 2011 at 12:50 pm #

    Good to hear the recipe worked out for you! And also good to learn for me and interesting that 1 tsp gelatine powder is the equivalent of 2 gelatine leaves 🙂

    • LDN Eats NYC June 27, 2011 at 2:40 pm #

      Since moving to the states I have become pretty good at finding conversions online, still struggle with cup measurements as my head only works in grams.
      Seeing as that was my first ever attempt at pannacotta and it worked I have to say a big thanks for that recipe.

Leave a Reply

