The Gym 1

18 Feb

It has been a week since I joined the gym and things have been going well. The first thing that I should point out is that as with life nothing is ever as simple as it appears.

I arrived with a print out receipt for my 30 days for $30. Tony the affable manager smiled and took me to his booth where he began to hit me with his spiel. Two minutes in and I was dizzy with the different options, money-saving offers and too good to be true deals. As I tried to convince Tony that all I was interested in were the 30 days I had planned, he could not fathom why I would not sign up to his clearly better deal.

I was sucked in to the point where I felt my will beginning to bend and while in hindsight I should have just manned up and told the truth “I am here for 30 days no more, just want to take advantage of your silly offer, I have no intention of joining your gym.” I squirmed trying to explain how my indecision was chronic and that I should ‘think about it a little more’. I eventually managed to convince him to let me be and that after a quick workout I would comeback with a decision. He relented and I went on my way.

In my earlier post I joked that since I had not entered a gym for well over 10 years the only machine that I may be able to use was the exercise bike. It turned out I was almost correct. For 5 minutes I peddled furiously wondering why none of the buttons would work and why there was no resistance even when I tried to increase the tension. Turns out the machine was broken…ooops

Thoroughly embarrassed I sheepishly moved onto the next machine, a kind of step thingy which again I could not turn on until I worked out that by starting to step the machine lit up, I managed 10 minutes and burned 125 calories, almost enough for a burger bun!!! Next onto to the weights, again a bad idea, especially stood next to some Schwarzenegger type, I over exerted myself and felt the rip as I tore my muscle fibres to shreds. Back to the exercise bike and another 100 calories. By this point I was pooped, sweaty and ready to confront Tony.

Luckily by this stage he was exasperated from dealing with an irate client and was easily persuaded to give me my temporary membership without any more cajoling. Finally I was on my way. I have since returned every day and after 2 weeks healthy eating and 3 days of gym have dropped 5 KG. Happy Days!!!

3 Responses to “The Gym 1”

  1. foodieinberlin February 18, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

    5 kg? Seriously?

  2. foodieinberlin February 18, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

    Typed while I eat fried eggs with Iberico ham and rice. I wonder where my problem lies…?

    • LDN Eats NYC February 18, 2011 at 3:22 pm #

      That sounds so good though…….Plus its easy to lose the first 5kg when you need to lose 10+….

Leave a Reply

